Sunday, December 03
10:28 PM

Oman bans import of poultry from 6 countries


Muscat – The Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resources has banned the import of poultry from six countries.

A statement issued by the ministry on Tuesday said, ‘It is forbidden to import live birds and their products and derivatives from Hungary, Bolivia, the city of Wels in Austria, the city of Saiki in Oita Prefecture in Japan, the Codington County; South Dakota and Anderson County; South Carolina in USA, and the province of Afyon in Turkey.’

The ban will continue until further notice, with the exception of products that are thermally treated in accordance with the Health Law for Terrestrial Animals issued by the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE).

The decision is based on the Veterinary Quarantine Law issued by Royal Decree (No. 45/2004), the executive regulations of the Veterinary Quarantine Regulation issued by Ministerial Resolution No. 107/2008, and the reports issued by OIE, and the recommendation of the veterinary authority concerned with banning the import of live birds, their products and derivatives.

© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Mesdac