Friday, January 21
04:14 PM

OVA First Division League: Salam retain crown

22 Feb 2021 By ASHOK PUROHIT

Al Salam have been a dominant force in domestic volleyball in recent times and the club stamped their authority on Monday when they successfully defended their title in the 2020-21 Oman Volleyball Association (OVA) First Division League at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex (SQSC).

In what was a repeat of last year’s final between Al Salam and Al Kamil W’al Wafi, Al Salam, once again, repeated a similar script as they managed to stave off a stiff challenge from their rivals to win the crown for the fifth time. Last year, Al Salam won the final 3-2 and this time also, Al Salam won 3-2 (25-23, 22-25, 25-17, 23-25, 15-11).

Al Salam had won three titles in a row, starting in 2016 before Seeb halted their streak with a title in 2019.  Earlier on Monday, Seeb had the consolation of retaining their third-place finish with a 3-0 (25-14, 25-19, 25-21) victory over Sohar. 

A total of seven teams battled for the top division honours. 

Besides the top-four teams, the other clubs in fray were Masirah, Ahli-Sidab and Bahla.

Later, H E Rashad al Hinai, Undersecretary at the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Youth, presented the trophy to Salam captain Ibrahim al Muzaini in the presence of OVA president Sheikh Badar al Rawas, Ali al Balushi, Salam Club chief, and other senior officials from the ministry and clubs. The chief guest also presented medals to players of the top-three teams.

Al Salam’s Falah al Jarradi was named the season’s Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Oman Club clinch second division title

On Sunday, Oman Club claimed the top honours in the OVA Second Division League with a clinical 3-0 (25-20, 25-23, 25-18) win over Al Suwaiq in the summit clash at the SQSC. 

Saham finished third with a 3-0 (25-12, 25-21, 25-20) win over Salalah earlier on Sunday.

A total of 13 teams took part in the competition with clubs divided into four groups. The top four teams from each group advanced to the semifinals.

In the last-four stage, Suwaiq got the better of Salalah 3-0 while Oman defeated Saham 3-0  to set up the title clash.

Fareed al Zadjali, Oman Basketball Association (OBA) chairman, was the chief guest and handed over the trophy and individual awards in the presence of Sheikh Badar al Rawas.


© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Mesdac