Local cricket: Women’s Cricket Sohar emerges champion

Women’ Cricket Sohar (WCS) was crowned champion in the Oman Cricket Women’s Twenty20 League on Sunday.

In the final match, played at the Al Amerat ground, WCS drubbed Indian School Ghubra (ISG) by nine wickets.

Batting first, ISG scored 119 for five in 20 overs thanks to Shreya Sandesh Dhuri’s unbeaten 50 off 63. Akshara Srinivasan contributed 17 off 18.

WCS achieved the target 18.2 overs, scoring 120 for one, thanks to brilliant unbeaten 59 off 69 balls by Kavita Soudati and Anu Amal's unbeaten 35.

Brief scores: ISG 119-5 in 20 overs (Shreya 50) lost to WCS 120-1 in 18.2 overs (Kavita 59 n.o., Anu 35 n.o.).


Other results: Men's League: H Division: Maxitech International 177-8 in 20 overs (Rahul Rajeev 44, Shinu Prasad 41; Shareef al Balushi 3-30, Shakir Khan 2-29) beat TR Engineering 160-7 in 20 overs (Asjad Mohammed 42, Shareef al Balushi 41; Ajith Bhaskara 3-25, Nousad Haneefa 2-25, Mohan Babu 2-29).

I Division: Lulu Hypermarket 205-9 in 20 overs (Miras Mohammed 62, Shahul Hameed 32 n.o.; Panner Selvan 4-28, Krishna Kumar 2-35) beat Al Siraj Holdings 154-4 in 20 overs (Mohammed Irfan 72, Krishna Kumar 35 n.o.).

Similar content

muscat daily recycle