Monday, August 15
02:15 PM

MEDRC announces Omani Young Water Researchers Award 2020 winners

17 Mar 2021

Middle East Desalination Research Center (MEDRC) announced the winners of the ‘Omani Young Water Researchers Award 2020’ and the ‘Eco School Prize’ at an official ceremony held under the auspices of H E Dr Rahma bint Ibrahim bin Said al Mahrouqiyah, Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation.

Established by MEDRC and sponsored by the Embassy of the Netherlands in Oman, Omar Zawawi Establishment and Haya Water, the Omani Young Water Researchers Award aims to celebrate the world class water research being undertaken by young Omani students at undergraduate and postgraduate level at universities.

Eng Suleiman al Qasmi, acting CEO of Haya Water, said, “Providing a platform to encourage academic research, taking part in water research projects and supporting the Omani youth to come up with smart solutions to supply sufficient and high quality water has been among the primary concerns of Haya Water because we appreciate the value of research and understand its role in supporting the community.”

H E Laetitia van Asch, Ambassador of the Netherlands in Oman, said, “Water is life; it’s an essential resource for our survival, but we must not forget that water is a finite resource. In the Netherlands we managed to turn our water challenges into opportunities. We make use of innovative solutions. Youth is important. We want to pass on skills and knowledge to the next generation.”

MEDRC Center Director, Ciarán Ó Cuinn, commented saying, “The Omani Young Water Researchers Award is a celebration of the academic excellence of the new generation of Omani scientists who use their talents to improve life and society by creating more sustainable, affordable and plentiful access to water. They are a credit to Oman and we salute them. Through the Eco School Prize we are working together to ensure that scientific and sustainable spirit is passed to the next generation.”

Said al Harthy, head of CSR programmes at Oman LNG added, “This unique occasion is a testimony of our youth’s strengths and capabilities in innovation and creativity. 

With them, we ensure a sustainable and flourishing future for Oman and its people. They’re tomorrow’s builders and champions. I am pleased to congratulate our champions who are celebrated today.”


Postgraduate Category

1. Ibtihal al Manthri, Sultan 

Qaboos University (SQU) for the research paper titled ‘Water- land- and energy-use efficiencies of AC-cooled greenhouses based on field experiments’

2. Tahani Bait Suwailam, SQU for the research paper titled ‘Enhancement of Freshwater 

Production of the Seawater Greenhouse via a Direct 

Contact Dehumidifier’

Undergraduate Category

1. Kawther al Ismaili, SQU for the research paper titled ‘Microwave Assisted Synthesis of CdS Sub-Microspheres for the Degradation of Chlorophenols Under Solar Light Irradiation’

2. Matar al Maqbali, SQU for the research paper titled ‘Development of In2O3 and Cd doped In2O3 Nano size photocatalyst for the degradation of Dyes present in Aqueous Solution’

Wastewater Research Prize

1. Aziza al Hinai & Halima al Haimali, SQU for the research paper titled ‘Comparison 

between two and three-chamber MDC performance using buffered and non-buffered anolyte’.

© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Mesdac