Saturday, September 18
09:57 PM

Seeb, Al Nasr march into last-16


Defending Omantel League winners Seeb sent a clear signal on Sunday that they are the team to beat in the new domestic season as they trounced Al Talee’a 5-0 to advance into the round-of-16 of the 2020-21 His Majesty’s Cup Football Championship at the Seeb Sports Stadium.

Playing the last match of the day that featured five games to complete the round-of 32, Seeb, a three-time winner of the coveted HM’s Cup, was in roaring form as they hammered in four goals in the first half itself.

Former Oman striker Abdulaziz al Miqbali and Amjad al Harthi scored a brace while Issam al Makhzoumi got the fifth in Seeb’s convincing victory.

Also advancing to the last-16 stage on Sunday were former champions Al Nasr and Sur.

Five-time champions Al Nasr proved too strong for Bausher at home, coasting to a 2-0 win at the Saada Sports Complex in Salalah.

Four-time winners Sur also sealed a spot in the next round after a penalty shootout, winning 4-3 against Bahla. The match ended 1-1 after the regulation and extra-time.

In the other games on Sunday, Al Nahda knocked Ahli-Sidab out with a 2-1 win at the ROP Stadium and Majees got the better of Nizwa in a penalty shootout, winning 3-0, after the teams were locked in a 1-1 stalemate. 

Earlier on Saturday night, Sohar routed Al Khabourah 4-1 to secure a spot in the last-16.

Following the conclusion of the round-of-32 on Sunday night, the 15 teams that advanced are Al Arouba, Saham, Ibri, Samail, Al Suwaiq, Al Mussanah, Oman, Al Rustaq, Sur, Al Nahda, Sohar, Al Ittihad, Seeb, Al Nasr and Majees. Nine-time and defending champions Dhofar had received a bye to last-16. 

The round-of-16 will also be played on a single-round format and will be held on January 21-22. The first-leg of the double-leg quarterfinals will be played on February 5-6 while the return-leg will be held on February 15-16. The two-leg semifinals will be played on February 26-27 and March 8-9.


© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved.