Sunday, September 19
02:52 AM

Oman Cricket Awards: Treble for Sakshi, Amanpreet picks double at OC awards

19 Dec 2020

Sakshi Shetty of Women’s Cricket Sohar (WCS) claimed three individual awards while Amanpreet Singh Sirah, a student of Indian School Wadi Kabir (ISWK), picked two individual awards on the third and final day of the 2019-2020 annual Oman Cricket Awards ceremony at the Oman Cricket Academy grounds on Thursday. 

The awards’ ceremony were split into three days due to COVID-19 protocols.Sakshi’s outstanding season saw her win best batswoman, best bowler and best allrounder awards. Despite her success, her team, WCS, could only finish as women’s league runner-up.

Indian Social Club (ISC) captain Geetha Jagdish and vice-captain Merita Pinto received the women’s league winner’s trophy from chief guest H H Sayyid Qais al Said, OC vice-chairman.

Amanpreet bagged the best batsman and best allrounder awards while his teammate Siddh Mehta took the best bowler prize in the U19 league. 

Indian School Muscat (ISM) captain Azam Ali lifted the U19 winner’s Trophy while ISWK received the runner-up trophy. 

The results were similar in U16 league with ISM the winner and ISWK second.

In the U16 league, Arjun Suresh Dhiman of MCCC Yellow took the best batsman award while his teammate Aum Nrupen Kanani received the best bowler prize. Sri Lankan School Muscat’s Ravindra Jadeja was adjudged the best allrounder. 

In the U13 category, ISM-A lifted the trophy while Indian School Seeb (ISB) claimed the runner-up award. 

Devansh Loya of ISM-B received the best batsman award while best bowler prize went to Mukul Mahesh of Indian School Ghubrah (ISG). 

The awards ceremony was also attended by Madhu Jesrani, OC secretary, Duleep Mendis, OC chief development officer, and senior OC officials. 



© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved.