Sunday, January 23
01:55 PM

Four key tourists sites to be closed, new businesses to reopen

9 Jun 2020

The Supreme Committee dealing with developments resulting from the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, at a meeting headed by H E Sayyid Hamoud bin Faisal al Busaidi, Minister of Interior, on Tuesday,  decided to close four key tourist destinations – Jebel Akhdar, Jebel Shams, Masirah, and Dhofar Governorate, preventing any gatherings or tourist activities there. 

Also read: The Supreme Committee dealing with COVID-19 has ordered reopening a set of commercial and industrial activities starting from June 10. 

The lockdown in these desinations starts from 12 noon on June 13 and lasts till July 3. The situation will be evaluated according to the epidemiological data for each region separately, it added. 

The committee also decided, based on coordination with the relevant authorities in the public and private sectors, to reopen a new package of commercial and industrial activities from June 10 onwards. The competent authorities will soon announce details of these and the health requirements necessary to practise them. 

The committee also stressed the necessity of strict compliance with the precautionary measures set by the competent authorities to avoid infection and spread of the virus.

© 2021 Apex Press and Publishing. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Mesdac