Mutassim al Zadjali re-elected as OTA chairman

Mutassim al Zadjali was re-elected as chairman of the Oman Tennis Association (OTA) on Tuesday for another four-year term after he garnered 14 of the 21 votes in the elections that were held at the City Seasons Hotel.

Zadjali's challenger, former OTA chief Majeed Alasfoor, lost out, managing seven votes.

Thanking the clubs for their support, Zadjali said after the elections, “We will continue working as a team, like we have been doing in the last two years. I also welcome the new board members and I am looking forward to working with them.”

Zadjali added, “Over the past couple of years, our biggest achievement has been the implementation of the mini-tennis programme in various clubs. This programme is helping us increase the number of players at the club level. It is helping us identify talented kids.”

Meanwhile, Salim Abubaker retained the OTA vice-chairman's post while Siddiq al Hashmi will continue as treasurer. Both were elected unopposed.

In a three-way contest for the general secretary's post, Mohammed al Balushi retained his seat, bagging nine votes.

He edged out Khalid al Makhzoomi and Faisal al Sinani, who picked up six votes each.

The five members who were elected to the board are Abdullah al Muqadam (18 votes), Said al Barmani (15), Jamal al Masroori (14), Moosa al Hinai (14) and Ahmed al Saidi (11).

Except Barmani, the remaining four are new faces. The quartet who were voted out are Husam al Nabhani (1 vote), Faisal al Yousef (2), Saeed al Safrar (4) and Mohammed al Rasbi (5).

Also, Mohammed Bait Muati (1), Tammam Alasfoor (3), Salim Bait Kashub (1) and Ahmed al Hakim (9) lost the race for board membership.

Earlier, the election committee, appointed by the Ministry of Sports Affairs, disallowed Mudhaibi Club from voting because it delayed the filing of necessary documents required in the election process, bringing down the electorate to 21 from the initial 22 clubs.

Similar content

muscat daily recycle